Sign up for our newsletter


Paris-Roubaix 2022: Route, start list and all you need to know

Key information about the 2022 Paris-Roubaix, which takes place on Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th April: Route, riders, TV & cobbled sectors

Cyclist magazine
11 Apr 2022

Paris-Roubaix is back and it really doesn’t feel like a year since the last one… All jokes aside, the best race in cycling returns on the weekend of 16th and 17th April with the women’s race on the Saturday and men’s on Sunday.

After last year’s races were pushed to October due to the pandemic, the 2022 edition is once again in April, albeit a week later than it normally is due to elections in France.

It will be a completely different animal to the 2021 Paris-Roubaix too, coming straight after a packed Cobbled Classics schedule rather than the end of the season, with likely dry weather and with neither champion in the field to defend their title.

Expect the unexpected, don’t write anyone off and enjoy two days of magic. To get you hyped and prepped for Paris-Roubaix 2022, we’ve put together all the things you need to know for the big day.

Paris-Roubaix 2022: Key information

Date: Women’s – Saturday 16th April 2022; Men’s – Sunday 17th April 2022  
Start: Women’s – Denain; Men’s – Compiègne, north of Paris
Finish: Vélodrome André-Pétrieux, Roubaix  
Distance: Women’s – 125km; Men’s – 257.5km 
Cobbles: Women’s – 17 secteurs of pavé covering 29.2km; Men’s – 30 secteurs of pavé covering 54.8km; 
Weather: Women’s – 16°C, sunny intervals; Men’s – 17°C, sunny
UK live TV coverage: Eurosport 1, Eurosport Player, GCN+

Paris-Roubaix was inaugurated in 1896, making it one of the oldest bike races in the world. However, it took until 2021 for a women’s race to be organised.

Born of a familiar story involving entrepreneurial types, newspapers and money-making schemes, over time Paris-Roubaix has come to adopt monikers like the ‘Queen of the Classics’ and ‘Hell of the North’, and remains one of the most prestigious victories to take in pro bike racing.

Its place on the calendar marks the end of the cobbled Classics season, coming as a climactic end after races such as the Tour of Flanders, E3 Saxo Bank Classic and Gent-Wevelgem, and leading into the Ardennes Classics like La Flèche Wallonne and Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

Paris-Roubaix men’s route 2022 

The Paris-Roubaix 2022 men’s race route is pretty much identical to the past few editions, with a couple of tweaks to the first few cobbled sectors meaning it’s 1.5km shorter and there’s around 200 metres less pavé this time out.

As usual, attention will centre around the three toughest sections of cobbles – Trouée d’Arenberg, Mons-en-Pévèle and the Carrefour de l’Arbre – which often prove pivotal to the outcome of the race. 

Although the Arenberg Trench is tackled at almost 100km from the finishing line, it often causes many problems for the peloton splintering the bunch into smaller groups due to crashes, mechanicals and riders simply struggling to keep up the pace on the surface.

The Carrefour de l’Arbre is the last major test for any rider in with a chance for victory. This 2.1km section has been used as a springboard for many attacks in the past thanks to its tough cobbles and close proximity to the finish.

Paris-Roubaix Femmes route 2022

At just under half the length of the men’s race, Paris-Roubaix Femmes is still finding its feet somewhat after only one edition but the route is pretty much identical to that incredible 2021 race, only adding an extra lap of the opening circuit to take the day’s total up 9km.

In terms of cobbles, there are 17 secteurs, which are the same as the final 17 of the men’s route. That means the only big name left off is Arenberg, something a lot of fans would love to see but a logistical difficulty given the geography and desired length of the race.

However, that still leaves two five-star secteurs, three four-star secteurs, six three-star secteurs, four two-star secteurs and two one-star secteurs. Not to be sniffed at.

Paris-Roubaix cobbled secteurs 2022

(Sectors in bold are in both the men’s and women’s races)

Sector Kilometres Name Length Rating
30 96.3 Troisvilles to Inchy 2.2 3/5
29 102.8 Viesly to Quiévy 1.8 3/5
28 105.4 Quiévy to Saint-Python 3.7 4/5
27 110.1 Saint-Python 1.5 2/5
26 117.9 Vertain to Saint-Martin-sur-Écaillon 2.3 3/5
25 123.7 Haussy 0.8 2/5
24 130.6 Saulzoir to Verchain-Maugré 1.2 2/5
23 134.9 Verchain-Maugré to Quérénaing 1.6 3/5
22 137.6 Quérénaing to Maing 2.5 3/5
21 140.7 Maing to Monchaux-sur-Écaillon 1.6 3/5
20 153.7 Haveluy to Wallers 2.5 4/5
19 161.9 Trouée d'Arenberg 2.3 5/5
18 167.9 Wallers to Hélesmes 1.6 3/5
17 174.7 Hornaing to Wandignies 3.7 4/5
16 182.2 Warlaing to Brillon 2.4 3/5
15 185.6 Tilloy to Sars-et-Rosières 2.4 4/5
14 192 Beuvry-la-Forêt to Orchies 1.4 3/5
13 197 Orchies 1.7 3/5
12 203.1 Auchy-lez-Orchies to Bersée 2.7 4/5
11 208.6 Mons-en-Pévèle 3 5/5
10 214.6 Mérignies to Avelin 0.7 2/5
9 218 Pont-Thibaut to Ennevelin 1.4 3/5
8 223.4 Templeuve (L'Épinette) 0.2 1/5
8 223.9 Templeuve (Moulin-de-Vertain) 0.5 2/5
7 230.3 Cysoing to Bourghelles 1.3 2/5
6 232.8 Bourghelles to Wannehain 1.1 3/5
5 237.3 Camphin-en-Pévèle 1.8 4/5
4 240 Carrefour de l’Arbre 2.1 5/5
3 242.3 Gruson 1.1 2/5
2 249 Willems to Hem 1.4 2/5
1 255.8 Roubaix (Espace Charles Crupelandt) 0.3 1/5
Total Men: 54.8km; Women: 29.2km

Paris Roubaix men’s 2022: Start list and teams


AG2R-Citroën (FRA)
Astana Qazaqstan (KAZ)
Bahrain Victorious (BRN)
Bora-Hansgrohe (GER)
Cofidis (FRA)
Groupama-FDJ (FRA)
EF Education-EasyPost (USA)
Ineos Grenadiers (GBR)
Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux (BEL)
Israel-Premier Tech (ISR)
Jumbo-Visma (NED)
Lotto Soudal (BEL)
Movistar (ESP)
QuickStep Alpha Vinyl (BEL)
Team BikeExchange-Jayco (AUS)
Team DSM (GER)
Trek-Segafredo (USA)
UAE Team Emirates (UAE)


Alpecin-Fenix (BEL)
Arkéa-Samsic (FRA)
B&B Hotels-KTM (FRA)
Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB (BEL)
Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise (BEL)
TotalEnergies (FRA)
Uno-X Pro Cycling (NOR)

Paris Roubaix Femmes 2022: Start list and teams

Women’s WorldTeams

Canyon-SRAM (GER)
EF Education-EasyPost (USA)
FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope (FRA)
Human Powered Health (USA)
Jumbo-Visma (NED)
Liv Racing Xstra (NED)
Movistar (ESP)
Roland Cogeas Edelweiss Squad (SUI)
SD Worx (NED)
Team BikeExchange-Jayco (AUS)
Team DSM (GER)
Trek-Segafredo (USA)
Uno-X Pro Cycling (NOR)

Women’s Continental Teams

AG Insurance-NXTG Team (NED)
Arkéa Pro Cycling (FRA)
Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling (GER)
Cofidis Women (FRA)
Le Col-Wahoo (GBR)
Parkhotel Valkenburg (NED)
Plantur-Pura (BEL)
Stade Rochelais Charente-Maritime (FRA)
St Michel-Auber 93 (FRA)
Valcar Travel & Service (ITA)

Paris-Roubaix: Recent winners

2021: Men’s – Sonny Colbrelli (ITA), Bahrain Victorious; Women’s – Lizzie Deignan (GBR), Trek-Segafredo 
2019: Philippe Gilbert (BEL), Deceuninck-QuickStep 
2018: Peter Sagan (SVK), Bora-Hansgrohe
2017: Greg Van Avermaet, (BEL) BMC Racing
2016: Mat Hayman, (AUS) Mitchelton-Scott
2015: John Degenkolb (GER), Giant-Alpecin
2014: Niki Terpstra (NED), Etixx-QuickStep
2013: Fabian Cancellara (SUI), RadioShack
2012: Tom Boonen (BEL), Omega Pharma-QuickStep
2011: Johann Vansummeren (BEL), Garmin-Cervelo
2010: Fabian Cancellara (SUI), Saxo Bank
2009: Tom Boonen (BEL), Quickstep
2008: Tom Boonen (BEL), Quickstep

For more on about Paris-Roubaix or to get hyped for the big weekend, try these:

Read more about: