Sign up for our newsletter


Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2022: Routes, teams and all you need to know

Key information about the 2022 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad men's and women's races, which take place on Saturday 26th February 2022

Joe Robinson
21 Feb 2022

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2022: Key information

  • Date: Saturday 26th February 2022  
  • Start: Gent  
  • Finish: Ninove  
  • Distance: Men's – 204.2km; Women's – 128.4km  
  • Climbs: Men's – Leberg, Kattenberg, Leberg, Hostellerie, Valkenberg, Wolvenberg, Marlboroughstraat, Blesestraat, Leberg, Berendries, Vossenhol, Muur-Kapelmuur, Bosberg; Women's – Edelareberg, Wolvenberg, Marlboroughstraat, Blesestraat, Leberg, Berendries, Vossenhol, Muur-Kapelmuur, Bosberg  
  • UK television coverage: Men's – GCN+, Eurosport; Women's – GCN+, Eurosport

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad is the first Cobbled Classic of the year and for many marks the true start of the cycling season. 

Previously called Omloop Het Volk, the heritage of this one-day race gives it the kind of prestige usually reserved for the bigger Monument races and is a day targeted by the very best in the peloton and long marked in cycling fans' calendars. 

Some of the biggest names in the sport have taken victory at the race down the years, including Eddy Merckx, Johan Museeuw, Lizzie Deignan and Roger De Vlaeminck. However, the Omloop was one of very few cobbled races that Belgian Tom Boonen was unable to take victory in before his retirement.

Last year's edition saw the men's race was won by QuickStep Alpha Vinyl’s Davide Ballerini ahead of Brit Jake Stewart of Groupama-FDJ, and Sep Vanmarcke of Israel-Premier Tech in an unsual mass sprint finish.

Omloop also runs a women's race on the same day and, while not part of the Women's WorldTour, it is regarded as one of the more prestigious one-day events in the women's calendar and often attracts the world's best riders.

Last year, Anna van der Breggen (SD Worx) took the honours in her final year as a professional. She soloed to the line ahead of Emma Norsgaaard (Movistar) and Amy Pieters (SD Worx).

Emma Johansson and Suzanne De Goede both share the honour of being the race's most successful winners alongside Van der Breggen with two wins apiece. Britain's Lizzie Deignan is also a previous winner (2016), having also finished on the podium twice before too.

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2022 men's route

Both men's and women's routes are very similar to the 2021 races, including the classic ascents of the Muur van Geraardsbergen and Bosberg, though are slightly (only a couple of kilometres) longer and the women's race includes an extra climb this time out.

The 2022 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad men's race is 204.2km long, tackling 13 'helligen' (climbs), of which some are cobbled, as well as nine sections of cobbled roads. The final run to the line harks back to previous Tour of Flanders races with the two final ascents of the race taking place on the cobbled Muur van Geraardsbergen – also known as Kapelmuur or Muur-Kapelmuur – and Bosberg before a flat and fast 13km into Ninove.

The Muur, as it is often known, is only 475m long yet averages 9.3% in gradient, topping out at a ridiculous 19.8%. The Bosberg is a little longer at 980m with an average gradient of 5.8% and a maximum gradient of 'just' 11%.

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2022 women's route

The 2022 women's Omloop Het Nieuwsblad is 128.4km long, and like the men's race it starts in Gent and finishes in Ninove. The peloton will tackle nine climbs and seven cobbled sections throughout the course of the day. The women's race finishes with an ascent of Muur van Geraardsbergen and Bosberg before the 13km flat out sprint to the line.

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2022: The teams

WorldTour teams

AG2R-Citroën (FRA)
Astana Qazaqstan (KAZ)
Bahrain Victorious (BHR)
Bora-Hansgrohe (GER)
Cofidis (FRA)
EF Education-EasyPost (USA)
Groupama-FDJ (FRA)
Ineos Grenadiers (GBR)
Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert (BEL)
Israel-Premier Tech (ISL)
Jumbo-Visma (NED)
Lotto Soudal (BEL)
Movistar (ESP)
QuickStep Alpha Vinyl (BEL)
Team BikeExchange-Jayco (AUS)
Team DSM (GER)
Trek-Segafredo (USA)
UAE Team Emirates (UAE)

ProTeam teams

Alpecin-Fenix (BEL)
Arkéa-Samsic (FRA)
B&B Hotels KTM (FRA)
Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB (BEL)
Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise (BEL)
TotalEnergies (FRA)
Uno-X (NOR)

Women's WorldTour teams

Canyon-Sram (GER)
EF Education-TIBCO-SVB (USA)
FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope (FRA)
Jumbo-Visma (NED)
Liv Racing Xstra (NED)
Movistar (ESP)
SD Worx (NED)
Team BikeExchange-Jayco (AUS)
Team DSM (NED)
Trek-Segafredo (USA)
Uno-X Pro Cycling(NOR)

Women's Continental teams

Arkea Pro Cycling (FRA)
Bingoal Casino-Chevalmeire-Van Eyck Sport(BEL)
Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling (GER)
Cofidis (FRA)
Le Col-Wahoo (GBR)
Lotto Soudal Ladies (BEL)
Multum Accountants (BEL)
NXTG by Experza (NED)
Parkhotel Valkenburg (NED)
Team Coop-Hitec Products (NOR)
Team Rupelcleaning-Champion Lubricants (IRL)
Valcar-Travel & Service (ITA)

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad previous male winners

2021: Davide Ballerini (Ita) Deceuninck-QuickStep
2020: Jasper Stuyven (BEL) Trek-Segafredo
2019: Zdenek Stybar (CZE) Deceuninck-QuickStep
2018: Michael Valgren (DEN) Astana
2017: Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) BMC Racing
2016: Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) BMC Racing
2015: Ian Stannard (GBR) Team Sky
2014: Ian Stannard (GBR) Team Sky
2013: Luca Paolini (ITA) Katusha
2012: Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) Garmin-Barracuda
2011: Sebastian Langeveld (BEL) Rabobank

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad previous female winners

2021: Anna van der Breggen (NED) SD Worx
2020: Annemiek van Vleuten (NED) Mitchelton-Scott
2019: Chantal Blaak (LUX) Boels-Dolmans
2018: Christina Siggaard (DEN) Team Virtu
2017: Lucinda Brand (NED) Team Sunweb
2016: Lizzie Deignan (GBR) Boels-Dolmans
2015: Anna van der Breggen (NED) Rabobank-Liv
2014: Amy Pieters (NED) Giant-Shimano
2013: Tiffany Cromwell (AUS) Orica-AIS
2012: Loes Gunnewijk (NED), Orica-AIS
2011: Emma Johansson (SWE), Hitec Products Uck

Read more about: